SADC Double Troika puts spotlight on Lesotho

An Extra-Ordinary Summit of the SADC Double Troika is underway in Gaborone, Botswana, this morning.

The meeting, which will be attended by, among others, President Jacob Zuma and Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa, will consider the political and security situation in the SADC region, paying particular attention to the situation in Lesotho.

The meeting will look into the implementation of the recommendations of the commission tasked with probing the instability that rocked the mountain kingdom since 2014.

The commission was tasked with investigating the violence that erupted following a failed coup, the killing of the former Lesotho army General Maaparankoe Mahao, as well as alleged intimidation of members of the opposition parties.

“South Africa is participating in the meeting in its capacity as the outgoing Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation,” the Presidency said on Tuesday.

The Double Troika is made up of the following countries: Botswana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Mozambique, South Africa and Tanzania.

Source: Government Communication and information System