PRETORIA– South African President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed an Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on land reform to be chaired by Deputy President David Mabuza, to co-ordinate and implement measures to accelerate the redistribution of land in the country.

The nine-member IMC will also deal with the provision of agricultural support and the redressing of spatial inequality within a broad and comprehensive land redistribution and agricultural development programme, the president said in a statement here Friday.

President Ramaphosa’s appointment of the IMC is in line with his commitment, made during the State of the Nation Address (in February), to accelerate land redistribution programme, not only to redress a grave historical injustice, but also to bring more producers into the agricultural sector and to make more land available for cultivation towards security, rural development, poverty reduction and strengthening the economy, the statement added.

Apart from the Deputy President, the committee also includes Minister for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation in the Presidency Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma; Rural Development and Land Reform Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane; Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister Senzeni Zokwana; Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs Minister Zweli Mkhize;

Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene; Human Settlements Minister Nomaindia Mfeketo; Justice and Correctional Services Minister Michael Masutha; Public Enterprises Minister Pravin Gordhan; and Public Works Minister Thulas Nxesi.

In addition, the President will also soon appoint a Panel of Experts to provide technical support to the committee as it carries out its important task of expediting land reform through all available measures, including expropriation of land without compensation.

Earlier on Friday, the Cabinet’s recently appointed Ministerial Task Team met with the leadership of the National House of Traditional Leaders (the upper chamber of the South African Parliament) and leaders of provincial legislatures, on the issue of land reform.

On Thursday, the Cabinet announced the appointment of the team of Ministers to engage with traditional leaders on their concerns on land expropriation.

Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) Minister Dr Zweli Mkhize is the convener of the ministerial team and is supported by Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister Senzeni Zokwana, Rural Development and Land Reform Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane and Communications Minister Nomvula Mokonyane.